Literacy consists of the skills necessary to read, write, listen and speak. Our reading programs focus on five elements of reading: phonemic awareness, phonics, fluency, vocabulary, and text comprehension. Teachers use a variety of resources to ensure that Common Core State Standards are met across all grade levels.

Programs We Implement to Support Student Learning

  • Project Read (K-3)
  • Houghton Mifflin Reading (Gr. K-4)
  • Keys to Literacy (Gr. K-12)
  • State Tested Model Curriculum Units
  • Leveled Readers for Guided Reading
  • Various Literature Titles (Gr. 4-12)


During the summer of 2015, several teachers representing Gr. K-8, met for a week to establish the following guidelines for writing across all curriculum areas in the District.